Who Are We?

We are a group of individuals working in academia, industry, and government, with backgrounds in electrical technology, electrical engineering, computer engineering, or computing science. We meet on a monthly basis throughout the year, usually in Edmonton.

The operation of the IEEE Section is managed by the Section Executive committee, whose members are elected or appointed every year. The officers are elected by the membership of the Section – the remainder are appointed by the Section chair. The significant procedures relating to Section operations are detailed in the bylaws. We are always looking for IEEE members to assist in these volunteer activities. If you are interested in finding out more about becoming a Section or Committee volunteer, please contact the Section Chair whose email address is provided below.



Northern Canada Section Executives 2020

NCS Officers
Chair Iyub Adam
Vice-Chair Rossitza Marinova
Secretary Jim Ellis
Treasurer Hugo Ayres
Webmaster Shahram Fardadvand
Past Chair Jim Ellis


NCS Committees
Awards/Recognition Alexandre Nassif
Educational Activities Samuel Eneje
Humanitarian Initiative Iyub Adam
IEEE Canadian Foundation Liaison -Vacant
Industrial Relations Pankaj Sharma, Aleksandar Pecuh, Jeremy Mitchell
Life Members Andy Jones
Member at Large Stuart Barth
Membership Development Hendrika Kuffar
Professional/Career Activities Benjamin Hou
Section Communication Shahram Fardadvand, Konstantin Gerasimov
IEEE Canada TISP Educational Activities Chair Rossitza Marinova
Teacher in Service Program (TISP) Rossitza Marinova, Mooney Sherman
Women in Engineering (WIE) Tessa Ryan, Rossitza Marinova
Young Professionals Tessa Ryan


NCS Technical Society Chapters
EMBS (Engineering in Medicine & Biology Society) Roger Zemp
MTT/APS Co-Chair (Microwave Theory & Techniques/Antennas & Propagation Society) Ashwin lyer
MTT/APS Treasurer Thomas Jones
MTT/APS Secretary Stuart Barth
MTT/APS Events Planning Officer -Vacant
MTT/APS Student Liaison Officer -Vacant
MTT/APS Communications Officer -Vacant
PES/IAS Chair Piero Aquino-Mesa
PES/IAS Vice Chair Kelly Butz
PES/IAS Secretary Hernan Salvador
PES/IAS Treasurer Hugo Ayres
PES/IAS Past Chair Colten Thurrott
PES/IAS Member at Large Carl Lam
PES/IAS Public Relations -Vacant
PES/IAS Registrar -Vacant
PES/IAS Communications -Vacant
PES/IAS Webmaster Konstantin Gerasimov
Comp/Com (Computers/Communications Society) Hugo Ayres, Iyub Adam
U of A SB Advisor (University of Alberta Student Branch) Jeremy Sit
U of A SB Co-Chair Imtisal Ahmad
U of A SB Co-Chair Mahnoor Zia
U of A SB Vice Chair Danny Soppit
U of A SB Secretary Dillon Allan
U of A SB Treasurer Richard Kraupa
U of A SB Past Chair Maram Yousef
U of A SB Past Vice Chair Rachelle Lee
U of A SB WIE-Chair Richelle
U of A SB WIE Past-Chair Hafsah Ali
U of A EMBS-Student Chapter -Vacant
Concordia SB Chair -Vacant
Concordia SB Advisor -Vacant
Concordia SB Counselor -Vacant
PELS (Power Electronics Society) Alexandre Nassif


Northern Canada Section established February 1955.

Council affiliation: Western Canada Council